top of page
  • Writer's pictureDan Adams, C.O.

Sci Fi Ball 26

The Sci Fi Ball (Formerly the SF Ball, formerly the Starfleet Ball) is one of the longer running events in the country. An annual affair, it brings in hundreds of fans from across the UK.

Here is the story of my adventure at the 2020 event.


THURSDAY


At first the price of the Ball seems daunting, however when you find ways to save here and there, you can find the value. One such method for me is to go by coach. My journey started at approximately 10:00 when I left my home to begin the long Trek to Southampton.

Yes, I travelled by National Express. Not the most luxurious of methods, but it costs roughly a quarter of what it would be on the train. However, we’re getting a head of ourselves a tad. The journey started with a bus trip to Chesterfield. Here I forgot the most important lesson I learned last year… get a taxi to the coach station. These days busses aren’t designed for luggage any bigger than a small shopping cart.


My coach stopped at Victoria Coach Station. This was my fifth visit to the capital in 5 weeks, so I was more used to London than ever. After a well earned brew and a sandwich, it was all aboard the coach for phase 2 of my journey. All 3 hours of it. Luckily fate was on my side as no one was booked to get on or leave the coach at Winchester, giving me an extra ten minutes in Southampton.


This was my 7th ball I think, my 5th in Southampton and the last one at the Grand Harbour hotel. More on that later, but I am something of a creature of habit, so I was very happy have five visits to the city I was able to finally make my way to the hotel unaided by my phone.

In what has become my pre-ball tradition, after check in, I visited Five Guys, followed by a visit to the event hotel bar.. Another way I stretch my pennies over the weekend is to avoid staying in the event hotel. The Premier Inn, Travelodge, and Holiday Inn were all within comfortable walking distance of the bar.



A few friendly hellos and a cheeky drink, it was time to retire to my hotel to watch Picard before bed.


Friday, I decided to have a small potter around Southampton town centre. I was able to visit the Southampton Forbidden Planet and get the Picard Novel 3 days early. After that, it was time to sign in and enjoy the weekend.




This year, the Friday festivities were quieter than usual for me, but the evening kicked off with the Opening Ceremony in which the attendees were welcomed to the event, and the stars came and said hello. There was a small bonus this year, as we had a preview of the film “Ben Frankly” a comedy short starring Robert Picardo and Connor Trineer Then it was time for the guests to join us. This years guests included David Doak, a crew member on the seminal N64 Game Goldeneye, Tim Brooke-Taylor, one of the 70s comedy troupe “The Goodies”, Lesley Ash, star of many UK TV shows and the cult film Quadraphenia, Jennfier Edwards who played the teacher Mrs Kyle in “New Ground” in TNG, Torwhood’s Gareth David-Lloyd and Kai Owen. Leading the line up was Kate Vernon, who has been in both Voyager and the revived Battle Star Galatcia, and of course, Marina Sirtis, star of Star Trek The Next Generation and who has more recently appeared in Picard.


With the welcome completed, it was time to chill out for the rest of the evening As ever with the Ball, themes are decided in advance, or you are welcome to wear your costumes. Friday’s theme was a barn dance.




Once the partying was done, it was time for bed, and being up and at them for the next day.


SATURDAY





The beauty of the Ball is that you can run around trying to do everything, or you take take a more laid back approach and do bits here and there. Most of the day and early afternoons are taken over by the guest talks across 2 stages, the main hall and the more intimate horror channel stage, as well as the photos with the stars Meanwhile, you can cut in and out of the talks and photo sessions and visit the dealers room and gaming areas. This year I spent a lot of time playing in the arcade room. I also got another snap with Marina. I also attended Marina’s talks both days. One thing about Marina Sirtis is that she is very frank about her time on the show and won’t mince her words, Amusing stories served with her trademark brutal honesty were the order of the day here. She shared some details about Picard, but nothing an eagle eyed viewer couldn’t discern from the trailer.





Saturday night saw the main meal, the Ball for which the entire event is named for. The dress code here is slightly stricter, guests must be in cosplay or formal ware (Friday and Sunday parties tend to be more relaxed with some in jeans and T-Shirts). Attendees were photographed as they came in for the fancy dress contest. After some delicious food, there was a brief talk from a representative of the Teenage Cancer Trust, and a patient of one of the units that has benefitted from the charity. Then came the raffle.


So, Marina was last a guest at the SF Ball as it was then 6 years ago at the final event in Borunemouth. The food was shocking, so much so that Marina spat some of it out into a piece of paper and raffled it off. I won, and while I didn’t keep the item in question, I did get a kiss, and a piece of anecdotal gold. So much so, it has been a running joke at the ball.

So this year, when Marina attempted to recreate the incident, the staff frantically tried to replicate me winning the raffle. Alas it wasn’t to be this time around, but I did become the centre of attention in a ball room full of a ton of people, including stars of stage and screen


The Saturday Cabaret was a performance of “Im sorry I’ll say that again, again.” From Tim Brooke Taylor. It certainly had a vibe of British absurdist humour about it, with some sketches written by Eric Idle. Another Disco, and the day was done.


SUNDAY


Sunday followed much the same pattern as Saturday, with a few key differences. Amongst the day activities was an auction, and of course, a Patron’s tea where I was able to talk to the event organisers in a more intimate setting.


The day closed out with the closing ceremony. I won the writing contest, apparently it was the toughest field ever this year. My tale was adapted from an RPG campaign I wrote for my gaming group.



The evening closed with Karaoke (Yes I had a go) and the Disco Monday came, and the Ball was gone.


I really cannot recommend the Ball enough Next year its moving from the centre of Southampton to a venue on the outskirts, but it is still a wonderful event. I have already started to make my plans to attend




https://scifiball.com/

29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2022 Trek in Review

25 years ago, perhaps Trek was at a golden age.    We had just passed through the glorious 30th Anniversary, when not only did we get two unique and brilliant anniversary specials on screen, we also h

bottom of page